SAAFP Elections outcome

15 May 2020

Dear Colleagues

The South African Academy of Family Physicians is pleased to announce the outcome of the nomination process for its Council for the 2020-2023 term of office.

The number of nominations matched the number of seats; therefore it is not required to have an election and the following nominees will constitute the Council as of the next SAAFP AGM at the end of the year. The AGM date and venue will be confirmed closer to the time.

As per the SAAFP Memorandum of Incorporation, this newly constituted Council will elect a new board.

The new Council shall consist of the following:

A Representative nominated by each of the academic departments of Family Medicine of South African universities:

  • SU Prof Bob Mash
  • UCT Dr Tasleem Ras
  • UKZN Prof Andrew Ross
  • UP Prof Indiran Govender
  • UFS Prof Hanneke Brits
  • SMU Dr Susan Nnanile Nyalunga
  • WITS Dr Nonhlanhla Khumalo
  • WSU Dr Olukayode Adeleke
  • UL Dr Sizeka Maweya

A Representative nominated by the Rural Doctor’s Association of SA:

  • Dr Jenny Nash

A Trainee Representative nominated by the official registrar association for Family Medicine:

  • Dr Chantelle van der Bijl

An Associate Representative from associate members:

  • Dr Andre Marais

4 (four) Additional Members (not affiliated to a university):

  • Dr Biano Hobson
  • Dr Wim Beukes
  • Position not filled
  • Position not filled


Prof Andrew Ross
SAAFP Council: Electoral Office

Family Physicians logo[transparent]

Promote optimal health for the people in Southern Africa through advocacy, support and the development of the primary health care team, and the establishment of an equitable, humane and integrated district health care system.

©2024 SAAFP. All rights reserved. No unauthorised duplication allowed.