The SAAFP is a Non Profit Company (NPC) registered in terms of the Companies Act no 71, 2008 (as amended. The SAAFP is governed by a Board of Directors and a Council, which are elected by its members every three years.
The Council elects an executive committee, which becomes the Board of Directors, consisting of the President, vice-president, treasurer, secretary and two additional members. The role and function of the Board of Directors is to be responsible for the day to day administration and control of the Council’s business affairs and all decisions of the board must be ratified by the Council. The role of the office bearers as described in the Memorandum of Incorporation.

SAAFP Council 2023-2026

1Prof Andrew Ross
University of KwaZulu-NatalPresident
2Prof Tasleem Ras
University of Cape TownVice-President
3Prof Mergan NaidooCollege of Medicine of South AfricaTreasurer
Dr Jenny NashRural Doctors Association of Southern Africa (RuDASA)Secretary
5Prof Hanneke BritsUniversity of the Free StateDirector
6Dr Sheena MathewPrivate Practice and affiliated with University of Cape TownDirector
7Dr Doudou NzaumvilaSefako Makgatho Health Sciences University
8Dr Mulimisi Ramavhuya
University of Limpopo
9Dr Marthinus HeystekUniversity of Pretoria
10Prof Busi CaweWalter Sisulu University
11Dr Ts’epo MotsohiUniversity of Stellenbosch
12Dr Deidre Pretorius
Associate Representative
13Dr John MusondaWitwatersrand University
14Dr Gareth FrayPrivate Practice not affiliated with a South African University
15Dr Tracy Lee AbrahamsElected member not affiliated with a South African University
16Dr Lauren HuttonElected member not affiliated with a South African University
17Position not FilledRegistrar representative

Family Physicians logo[transparent]

Promote optimal health for the people in Southern Africa through advocacy, support and the development of the primary health care team, and the establishment of an equitable, humane and integrated district health care system.

©2024 SAAFP. All rights reserved. No unauthorised duplication allowed.